Live Blogging with ScribbleLive

Posted: January 14, 2009 in blogs, microblogging, RSS, web 2.0
Tags: , ,

I just discovered the ScribbleLive tool, a great way to simplify the live blogging experience. I think it’s a pretty new tool (couldn’t see how to get an RSS feed, although their FAQ lists RSS as one of the features), so I thought I’d try out embedding ScribbleLive into this blog post, and try to intertwine my twitter posts (pulled into ScribbleLive), and updates posted directly into the ScribbleLive tool into this blog.

  • 1:38 PM citymark – excellent, managed to get an RSS feed from scribblelive as well http://tinyurl.com/99vu9g
  • 1:38 PM citymark – experimenting with twitter & Scribblelive embedded into my blog http://markfaul.ca/ seems to be working
  • 1:33 PM citymark – Listening to the new ottawa.virginradio.com station (formerly the bear) … not much different really.
  • 1:23 PM citymark – In my “other life” I help my wife with SimplyRaw < >… helping people to learn more about healthy lifestyle choices.
  • 1:21 PM citymark – they include a raw vegan nut pate in the salad. Tasty & healthy 🙂
  • 1:20 PM citymark – Gonna dig into a delicious raw vegan salad from the Depanneur Sylvestre for lunch today.
  • 1:05 PM citymark – now playing with http://www.scribblelive.com/Event/Lunch to try out some of the features … how wide can the topics be cross-posted? RSS?
  • 1:00 PM citymark – Just discovered Scribble Live, so I thought I’d try it out over some tasty vegan lunch.

Powered by ScribbleLive

An interesting mashup of different blogging platforms. Nice to see how easy it is to mash things together. The fewer places I have to go to send out “global” updates across different platforms the better.

Next big thing I’d like to see is RSS feeds of Facebook updates! Anyone know if you can do that already, or if you can pull in updates from other tools into FB?

Comments
  1. Alan says:

    Hi Mark,

    Grabbed your twitter, post the Toronto Web 2.0 event. This looks useful, I’ve bookmarked them.

    Re: facebook updates – I’ve got the feed in my RSS, you can find the feed, when you click on your notifications (bottom right when logged in FB, click see all – you should then see the RSS feed in the middle of the page)

    I’m also able to push my last twitter to my FB status. And seeing how most of my friends use FB and not twitter, that’s a good thing, so I only log into FB when there’s notification in my feed. Here’s the Facebook app: http://www.facebook.com/apps/application.php?id=2231777543

    Mind you, I twitter less than 5 per day, so this solution works for me. You can also push your facebook updates to your twitter, I have noticed in a Google Search. Which is a poor man’s RSS feed for Facebook updates, I think. I don’t need it, but the instructions are here: http://www.jeffsandquist.com/how-to-publish-your-facebook-status-to-twitter/

    Good luck.

  2. gsnap says:

    Mark,

    Hello there! I’m the Sr. Director of Product @ G-SNAP! and I thought I’d write you a quick note about our service. As you’ve done with Scribble, you can also embed what we call a Snapcast into your blog but in addition, you can broadcast from your mobile phone with text updates, photos, videos, etc. Give it a try and let us know what you think!

    Hope you like the product!

    -Ramsey

    PS. We have some really exciting new features coming out so stay tuned! 🙂

Leave a Reply

