Social Media Monitoring

Posted: December 16, 2008 in web 2.0
Tags: , , , , , ,

I’ve been following social media updates on the OC Transpo transit strike (see previous post) through a variety of social media channels.  Thought I’d share my search approach here, and ask if anyone has suggestions for other channels to follow or tools to use.

Facebook – searching for groups, events, and pages; following discussion topics & wall posts

Twitter search.twitter.com to find relevant keyword tweets

socialmedialandscapeBlogs blogsearch.google.com using keywords and sorted by date to get the most recent posts

Google Alerts – keyword alerts setup to send updates immediately

Youtube – daily keyword search for any new videos & discussions

Flickr – daily keyword search for any new photos & discussions

News Media Discussion forums – website discussions on local news sources (Ottawa Citizen; CBC Ottawa; National Post; etc)

I’ve had a quick look at MySpace & Ning but didn’t see anything relevant.

  1. Are there other social media sites that I should be searching?
  2. Are there any good tools that would help make it easier to follow a variety of social media sources?
Comments
  1. Molly says:

    Great post Mark! Have you tried Yahoo Pipes yet? I’ve found that it has been quite useful on refining the sources I’m monitoring.

    Regarding your question about other networks – we follow questions on Linkedin quite religiously.

    How are you assembling your feeds? Are you using Netvibes?

  2. Mark says:

    Thanks Molly! I haven’t tried Pipes yet, but I’ll give it a whirl. Yesterday I tried http://sm2.techrigy.com as I saw @krusk tweeting about it. Didn’t find it that intuitive – more playing around needed 🙂

    I find it easiest to just do a “manual” search and scan of the different sources above – relatively quick, and nothing seems to do a good job of aggregating everything (facebook, twitter, blogs, etc).

    I like iGoogle for feeds; also using Google Alerts to make sure I don’t miss anything.

  3. Hi Mark, I love that you are tracking the strike. Have you tried Keotag.com? It allows you to enter a keyword and see who has used that word as a “tag”. It searches across more than a dozen sites.

  4. Molly says:

    Hmm. Haven’t tried techrigy yet – will definitely take a look.

    One of my coworkers wrote up a good approach to reputation monitoring a little over a year ago – think the approach can be extended to monitoring social media. I’ve also modified his original approach a bit for some of the terms I’m monitoring – tracking related concepts, sentiment, trends etc. A few good places to look for this type of information: http://www.silobreaker.com/ http://www.postrank.com/ http://www.textmap.com/

    The nice thing about a netvibes/yahoo pipes combo is that content does not have to be in RSS format to pull it into your dashboard. You can create your own RSS feeds using pipes.

    Is your aggregated OC transpo content available to the public? Would love to see it.

  5. Mark says:

    Thanks Kimberly – keotag.com is pretty good, although doesn’t always seem to pull in the latest content (ex: search.twitter.com pulls more recent posts). Nice quick and easy way to get a summary from multiple sites though.

    Molly > thanks for the additional links, I’ll check them out.

    My aggregated content isn’t in a very accessible format right now (mostly spread across my desk!), but I’ll post an updated summary in another post to my blog tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

